“4 Keys to Make It Through an Awful Day” (or Coping with the tragedy at the Boston Marathon)

Article Link

This April 15, 2013 article found on the MensHealthNews website talks about tips to lessen the impact on ourselves in the aftermath of a tragedy like what happened yesterday at the Boston Marathon.

I watched about 5 minutes of the live coverage on a particular news website and had to turn it off, because it was so graphic.  For me, turning it off wasn’t a sign that I didn’t care, but rather a sign that I was doing what I needed to do for myself to keep myself healthy.  I am deeply saddened and concerned about what happened yesterday, but I decided I really didn’t need the graphic images embedded in my memory since that just wouldn’t be useful for me in the long run.  I have a tendency to almost care too deeply about people who are injured or in pain to the point where my own mental health gets jeopardized.  I saw enough to know that what happened was worse than I initially imagined, but chose not to glue myself to the feed so that I could focus my energy on things like finding articles offering hope or healing in the aftermath.

My heart goes out to those at the finish line of the marathon, and to the friends and family members of those who were there at the time of the explosions. It is my hope that despite the tragic nature of this event, that people would seek peace, hope, and comfort rather than look for revenge.  It is my belief that even in the worst of circumstances there is always something positive that can be found in the midst of the chaos.  Things like total strangers stepping in and trying to help those who were injured are the things I’m trying to focus on since I get a certain measure of peace knowing that there are decent people who would step in and ask ‘what can I do to help?’

 

One Response

  1. Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

Comments are closed.

