“Take Mental Health Awareness Week Seriously”

English: An anxious person

English: An anxious person (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Article Link

 

This October 21, 2013 article on the “Onward State” website talks about one person’s experiences with having an anxiety disorder the writer’s experiences are some I was able to relate to myself, and I imagine many other like myself and the person who wrote the piece I linked to probably experience similar problems if they are dealing with a debilitating anxiety disorder.

 

 

 

For myself, I think one of the most frustrating things people have often said to me in a very sad attempt at trying to make me feel better is “everyone gets anxious” I do realize that folks who say this are likely saying it because they think it is helpful to the person with an anxiety disorder, but in reality, based on my experience, it is likely the least comforting response I’ve ever gotten when I disclose that I have an anxiety disorder.  People who don’t have their life put on hold or have it come to a screeching halt because of sheer panic that is often unable to be explained by the person having the panic attack, likely don’t have a clue what they are saying, and because everyone does get anxious about tests or running late for an appointment that kind of thing, everyone assumes that it is the same for folks like myself.  in reality it’s not the same and if it was the same, then everyone would be carrying a script for a medication to help them if the anxiety got too bad, or possibly even be utilizing things like a Service Dog to aid in managing anxiety and helping to alert them to an oncoming panic attack before it gets out of hand.  So while yes I do appreciate when people take an interest in trying to understand me or my diagnosis, I would be grateful if people would stop trying to compare everyday anxiety to what it is like for someone with an anxiety disorder it just isn’t helpful to anyone.

 

 

 

