“Giving Up Smoking: The New Way to Get ‘Rich’ Quick?”

Article Link

This undated article on the Money.co.uk website offers some insight into the financial benefits of quitting smoking.

I am a former smoker myself, and when I quit, I was spending about $150 per month on smokes and was averaging about 4 or 5 cartons per month around the year 2009.  I found at that time that cost of items to help me quit was far less than what I was paying per month for smokes.  my insurance covered Chantix which worked well for me, so I think I paid $10 or less for my supply of Chantix.  I bought lots of hard candy which cost me about $10, but was very helpful when I would get cravings or feel like I needed to be doing something with my hands or mouth to keep them occupied.  The first thing I noticed after I quit was that I was less stressed due to financial issues, because I had an extra $150 to work with each month.  So even though quitting smoking was challenging, the financial reward was priceless.

A 21 mg dose Nicoderm CQ patch applied to the ...

A 21 mg dose Nicoderm CQ patch applied to the left arm. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Enhanced by Zemanta
