“Fact Sheet: Progress in Four Years of the National HIV/AIDS Strategy”

 

English: Wooden sign outside of the National A...

English: Wooden sign outside of the National AIDS Memorial Grove (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Article Link

This July 15, 2014, InsuranceNewsNet.com article is a fact sheet giving an update on the progress that has been made since 2010 with decreasing the number of new HIV cases in the United States.  While I do realize that this item is not specific to the mental health community I recall reading something awhile back, and for the life of me I don’t remember who published it or even the headline of the article, and for all I know I may have posted it here.  At any rate I recall reading some place that researchers are seeing a link between mental illness and a higher rate of HIV.  My memory is vague, but it had more to do with high risk behavior that can go with or be a symptom of some types of mental illness.  I wish I could remember more, and will see what I can do to figure out where I read that, but it’s because of my vague memory of reading a piece about HIV among members of the mental health community that caused me to feel that this fact sheet was worth posting here.

