“U.S. star goalie Tim Howard puts name on Tourette syndrome ‘leadership academy'”

 

 

Tim Howard during USMNT practice session

Tim Howard during USMNT practice session (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Article Link

 

This July 18, 2014 Philly region NewsWorks article talks about United States  Star Goalie Tim Howard who has Tourette Syndrome, but uses his fame as a goalie to help educate others about the disorder by allowing himself to be seen in front of 40,000 people playing soccer despite the tics he has as a result of having Tourette’s Syndrome.  He also helps with a foundation for helping kids who have been diagnosed with Tourette’s Syndrome to learn to shine despite their diagnosis.  He wants people to know that just because you have Tourette Syndrome, it doesn’t mean you won’t ever be able to drive or do the things others do.

*Side Note*

I would like to note that I do understand that Tourette Syndrome is not a Mental illness but is a neurological disorder.  I do however know that it is possible for someone with Tourette Syndrome to have a comorbid mental illness, and it is because of the idea that it is possible for someone with Tourette’s to also have a mental illness that I felt this article was a good one to share here.  My other line of thinking is that I found the piece to be a bit of an inspiration not because I have Tourette’s,, but because it offered a view of someone who overcame something that easily could have been used as a reason to give up.  I commend Tim Howard for his success and hope that others will view this as a way that one man used a sport he loved as a way to help him educate others and hopefully inspire others along the way.  I have known a couple of people who have Tourette’s Syndrome, and I know that for them it can be very frustrating for them when their tics are in overdrive.  Once I realized what was happening with regards to their tics, I was able to look beyond the tics and see a couple awesome people beyond the tics.  Which for me was a lesson in getting to know someone as a person and not focusing on their illness, deformity, or disability.  I don’t know what if any other diagnosis Tim Howard has, but I do know that he is on the right track with regards to helping others understand Tourette’s Syndrome a little better.

 

 

