“Fruit and veg consumption tied to mental health”

Work of Adobe photo shop, but originally downl...

Work of Adobe photo shop, but originally downloaded from http://imh.org.rs/ – INFORMATOR_INSITUTA; need for article Institute of Mental Health (Belgrade) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Article Link

This September 24, 2014 article on the Medical News Today website talks about a recent study that seems to show that eating 5 servings of fruits and veggies every day could be beneficial to our mental health while also benefiting our physical health

3 Responses

  1. Hmm…suffer from mental health myself and was eating the ‘five a day’ prescription, which only overloaded my system with extra sugar from the fruits and some of the vegetables weren’t good for my metabolism. So, had to adjust with that idea.

    • I feel that common sense should be applied, since everyone has different needs and what works for one person may not work for everyone. I know for myself I don’t get anywhere near that many servings of fruits and veggies each day, but I do notice a difference in how I feel on days I don’t have any fruits or veggies compared to how I feel when I get 2 servings of veggies. The idea that it confirmed an observation I had made about myself, is more the reason I posted it, not to say that a one sized answer fits everyone’s needs.

      • Yeah, I understand and as a vegetarian, I do advocate fruits and vegetables as part of a healthy diet. It’s just like as you said, what is good for the goose, is not necessarily good for the gander, depending one one’s constitutional needs. Best wishes 🙂

Comments are closed.

