“When disability and race intersect”

Article Link

This December 4, 2014 WICU-WSEE Erie News article talks about an opinion on what sometimes happens when police are arresting someone who is disabled and how the persons race and disability could be targeted for discrimination either intentionally or unintentionally.  The article primarily focuses on things like “fat hatred” and how someone who is obese is potentially treated differently then someone who isn’t by the police.

Disclaimer ….  By posting the link to this article, I am not saying I approve or disapprove of the practices in this article.  I am simply sharing it because I feel that it offers some insight that could be useful.  I would also like to note that by posting this I am NOT saying that all police discriminate against people who are different then themselves, just acknowledgeing that it does seem to happen at times, and that while the only police that seem to be in the media are ones who are somehow corrupt or discriminate against others, I do acknowledge there are also some awesome

WSEE-TV

WSEE-TV (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

police out there who often go above and beyond the call of duty and will do everything they can to treat people they encounter with dignity and respect.  This is not a one-size-fits-all article.

 

